Quick Connect

Facebook     twitter    instagram


Follow Iowa PTA on Social Media


  • PO Box 10634            
  • Cedar Rapids, IA 52410


FedEx or UPS packages please use this address:
1380 60th Street NE #10634
Cedar Rapids, IA 52410


Phone: (319) 573-0049

Office Hours:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday

9 am - 11 am

Inquiries (phone or e-mail) will be answered/returned during these business hours.  


Email Us  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Iowa PTA Executive Board

The Iowa PTA is led by a group of volunteers from across the state. They share their time and efforts to promote the health, education, and well-being of children and youth; to assist parents in developing parenting skills; and to encourage parent and public involvement in public schools. They attend state and local PTA unit meetings, lead workshops, provide information to members and units, follow legislative issues concerning children, serve on committees for related organizations, and advocate for children everywhere.  In support of the volunteer organization, Iowa PTA retains the services of an Executive Director to administer and assist the Iowa PTA leadership team.

2017-2019 Elected Officers

President - Lisa Dlouhy

President-Elect - Vacant

VP Leadership - Claire Leondard

VP Legislation - Thatcher Williams

VP Membership - Janel McGovern

Secretary/Treasurer - Hoang Bui

Immediate Past President - Shellie Pike 


The Iowa PTA is always looking for new people to join our team. Take a look at the Officer Eligibility Form for more information.  If you are interested in a position on our board as an officer or committee chair or member, please fill out a Nomination Form. Nomination forms for elected positions are completed and returned to the Executive Director at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  for consideration by the Nominating Committee.

Iowa PTA Officer and Committee Chair Positions and Descriptions

There are four requirements to join the State Leadership team:

  • be a resident of the state of Iowa
  • be a current member of a PTA unit in good standing
  • be able to attend regularly scheduled meetings, and
  • possess a willingness to do assigned tasks.

There are two governing groups for the Iowa PTA; the Executive Committee and the Board of Managers.  The individuals serving on each of these groups is specified in the Iowa PTA’s Policies and Procedures Manual.

Executive Committee

The Iowa PTA Executive Committee consists of the elected officers and two committee chairs. The immediate past president serves as an advisor and is a non-voting member of the Committee. The Executive Committee transacts the business of the organization between regularly scheduled Board meetings and oversees all activities of the Iowa PTA.

Board of Managers

The Iowa PTA Board of Managers is the governing body of the Iowa PTA. It is made up of the elected officers, immediate past president, council presidents, and committee chairs.  These individuals, both elected and appointed, come together several times a year to review and approve all transactions and activities of the Iowa PTA and to govern and lead the Iowa PTA membership.




The Iowa PTA state leadership team is composed of four different types of positions. Each serves an important function and is necessary for the smooth running of the organization.

Elected Officers
Officers are elected by the state PTA membership at the Iowa PTA Convention on odd-numbered years and serve two-year terms. All officers, except the President, can serve more than one consecutive term in an office. The President can serve only one term.

Elected Officer Positions


President Elect

VP Leadership

VP Legislation

VP Membership


Committee Chairs

Committee Chairs are appointed by the elected officers at the first Executive Committee meeting after the Iowa PTA Convention. They serve two-year terms in their appointed area and report to the President, President-Elect, or a Vice-President. Committee Chairs serve as the chairmen of their respective committees and work closely with the elected officers throughout their term.

2017-2019 Committee Chairs

Legislative Chair - Johanna Bobenhouse

Membership Chair -Vacant

Family Engagement Chair - Vacant

Bylaws Chair - Vacant

Convention Chair - Claire Leonard

Reflections Chair - Liz Mink

Council Presidents

Council Presidents are elected by the PTA Council membership in their respective cities. They serve according to their local bylaws and act as an intermediate leadership level between state officers and local units in the larger metropolitan areas. Council Presidents bring issues and concerns from councils to the attention of the Board of Managers and take back information to local units.

2017-2018 Council Presidents

Cedar Rapids Council President - Janel McGovern 

Clinton Council President - Jennifer Austin

Newton Council President - Chelsea Swarts

Supporting Positions

Supporting Positions are appointed by the Iowa PTA Board of Managers and serve a two-year term.  They serve as consultants or as coordinators of various programs and report to the President, President-Elect or a Vice-President.